Process to Get a Driver’s License in Colorado
Taking the Mystery out of the Licensing Process
Introducing Graduated Licensing Laws
Graduated Licensing Laws (GDL) help new drivers ease into the risk and responsibility of driving “gradually”. The most challenging time is early on and carried the most restrictions.
As proficiency, skill and judgement develop over time restrictions are relaxed / removed. Families should use GDL as a guide to develop their own standards.
For more information or help contact us.
Steps to Getting Your License in Colorado
Learners Permit can first be obtained at 15 years of age. Provisional License (GDL–Graduated Drivers License) can be first obtained at 16 years of age.
More training is always better than less training. Requirements for training change based on your age when you begin the process.
GDL Process Started at 15 to 15 1/2
GDL Process Started at 15 1/2 to 16
GDL Process Started at 16 to 17
MasterDrive’s Essentials Program is the perfect solution to assisting your teen in getting their license as soon as possible while increasing safety, skills, confidence and awareness.
Contact MasterDrive for a copy of the “Teen Driver Survival Practice Guide”.
1 All new Drivers under age 18 require a parent/legal guardian’s signed Affidavit of Liability and Guardianship to get an instruction permit. Whoever signs the Affidavit is responsible for the supervision of the minor’s driving and for any financial liability.
2 Logged drive time must be with an authorized, licensed parent, legal guardian or alternate permit supervisor appointed by the parent/guardian. Ten of those hours must be at night.